top of page

Play Chess not Checkers

Updated: Apr 26, 2022

A person who plays games does not like to be the one getting played! Let me say that again, *clears throat*... A person who plays games does not enjoy being the one who is played! No one ever likes to eat the shit they’ve been serving out.

I’ve played games before. I’m sure we all have. Even if you try to act like you haven’t, you have. For me, it’s usually triggered if the guys I’m running into are playing games. I just get tired of the bullshit and end up saying "Fuck it! I’m about to be on the same shit! " But I only play my games for a week or two before returning to reality.

I recently dated someone who I would call the Big Boss of game players. He played the hell out of me! More than once! I met him while I was with someone else, and it was then that he started plotting his game moves. He would say all the right things and have me feeling like a teenage girl, but since I was in a relationship, I never fully latched on to the bait.

Then I became single, and the curiosity in me led me to reach out to the Big Boss. That’s when the game officially begins. This man was so smooth! We went on a beautiful date. We talked, we laughed, we flirted, and it was perfect. He had a way of making you feel like you were the most important thing in his world while you were with him. Trust me, the man knew how to talk you out of your panties.

He started pulling out his trick moves. We talked non-stop for like a week or so, even had our next date planned. I was anxious to see him. But I didn’t hear from him at all on the day of our date. I texted and called, but got no answer or reply. He’d ghosted me. It was a shitty feeling, but it wasn’t the first time I’d been ghosted, so I took it on the chin.


One day, about 3–4 weeks later, he texts me out of nowhere, "Babe?". Part of me was annoyed, like "Are you fucking kidding me?" but the caring part of me was like "What happened to you?" I chose the caring route. He had this whole story about losing his phone and not having my number, blah, blah, blah. I looked past it and decided to give him another chance, hoping this time would be different. It wasn't. He played the same hand from the first round, made me feel like a queen for about a week and a half, then POOF... he was gone again! I felt like an idiot! This time around, I was pissed!!

It was my turn to play now. Since Big Boss had gone ghost, I couldn’t play him right away. This gave me time to work on my skills. I was like a player magnet; I never had to find a new contender; they came to me. Once I was able to master my moves, I was unstoppable and untouchable. I was outplaying players left and right. My final move, or "finisher," is undeniable and my personal favorite. As soon as they try to call me out on the games I’ve played, I reveal that all of my games are mirror moves of the games they tried to play. No one likes looking in the mirror at their true selves.

I felt like I was ready to face the Big Boss player again, but this time I was going to be the orchestrator of this game. I still had the last number I knew to be his, so I texted it one night. Surprisingly, he responded rather quickly. This time, he made the reason for his disappearance my fault. That shit almost got me off my game because at this point you’re insulting me. But I just laughed it off. I was ready to play his ass.

I did all the sweet talking this time, making him feel like the "King" he proclaims himself to be. I could sense his guard coming down in certain moments, and at some points, it felt like he was truly being genuine. This was good; my plays were working, and I remained focused as I mapped out my finisher.





When Halloween comes, I dress up as Mrs. Freddy Krueger, aka Sexy Mrs. Krueger. We planned to meet up at his motorcycle club’s Halloween Party. Me and my girls pull up and go inside. We were only there for a few hours because it wasn’t really our type of crowd, but we mingled. Plus, I was only there to make sure I still had the Big Boss in the palm of my hand. Before we left, I told him I wanted him to come by later. He was right where I wanted him. He had gained some feelings, so I knew he was going to come. I left and got home shortly after we left. I texted him to let him know I was home and teased him to hurry.

He texted me when he was on his way. I read it, but didn’t reply. He called when he saw he was left on read and didn’t answer. He texted and called back to back that night. I sipped on my wine and watched this smooth talker throw a full-blown temper tantrum. I said nothing more to him.

The new year comes and Big Boss crosses my mind. I smirked at the last memory I had of him and decided to check in on him. Again, he responds quickly, but shortly after he calls. He is upset! He proceeds to tell me how I hurt him and made him feel like a fool. He even made up this conspiracy of what happened that night of my ghosting... I apparently met up with another man and spent the rest of the night with him. I took everything in me to hold in my laugh!

When he finally finished his rant, I took a long pause trying to find the best way to say "Gotcha!" without saying "Gotcha!" I simply say, "It doesn’t feel good, does it?" I then broke down my actions and compared them to his. He didn’t want to admit it at first, but as I walked him through his moves, he realized I was right.

although I was really good at playing the game. It made me feel icky after awhile. Especially after talking to Big Boss, I let this person grow feelings for me, knowing what I had planned. Lying and using people for my own gain was mentally draining and is not who I am. I was truly playing a game because I was definitely acting out of character...

As for Big Boss, oh he got his revenge. Yeah, he got me again, y'all. I should have seen it coming, honestly, but that was legit the last time. I haven’t spoken to him since then. He’s probably somewhere still playing games. You can’t change people; they have to change on their own. He’ll always remember the woman who managed to outplay him. (Insert evil laugh*)

Now to figure out how to return his watch.

The moral of the story is that revenge may feel good, but karma is still that bitch…


-MB













0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page